Sanskrit Manuscripts : Kharataragacchapaṭṭāvalī

Sanskrit Manuscripts

<p style='text-align: justify;'>This manuscript has no other title than <i>paṭṭāvalīpatraṃ</i> in the margin of <a href='' onclick='store.loadPage(2);return false;'>f. 1v</a> and ends abruptly. Written in Sanskrit prose, it contains a list of the heads or pontiffs (<i>sūri</i>) of the Kharataragaccha, one of the most important Śvetāmbara monastic orders, together with a narration of events in their lives, and can thus be called a <i>Kharataragacchapaṭṭāvalī</i>. For the first 62 teachers, it is the same text as the Berlin manuscript Ms. or. fol. 729 extensively quoted by Weber (1892: Cat. No. 1989 p. 1030-1056). They are: 1. Mahāvīra, 2. Sudharmasvāmī (f. 1v2), 3. Jambūsvāmī, 4. Prabhavasvāmī, 5. Saṃbhava, 6. Yaśobhadra, 7-8. Saṃbhūtivijaya and Bhadrabāhu, 9. Sthūlabhadrasvāmī, 10. Mahāgiri, 11. Suhasti, 12. Susthi, 13. Indradinnasūri, 14. Dinnasūri, 15. Siṃhagiri, 16. Vajrasvāmin, 17. Vajrasenācārya, 18. Candrasūri (f. 4r1), 19. Samantabhadrasūri, 20. Devasūri, 21. Pradyotanasūri, 22. Mānadevasūri, 23. Mānatungasūri, 24. Vīrasūri, 25. Jayadevasūri, 26. Devānandasūri, 27. Vikramasūri, 28. Narasiṃhasūri, 29. Samudrasūri, 30. Mānadevasūri, 31. Vibudhaprabhasūri, 32. Jayānandasūri, 33. Raviprabhasūri, 34. Yaśobhadrasūri, 35. Vimalacandrasūri, 36. Devasūri, 37. Nemicandra, 38. Uddyotanasūri (f. 5r1), 39. Varddhamānasūri, 40. Jineśvarasūri (f. 6v2), 41. Jinacandrasūri, 42. Abhayadevasūri (f. 8r1), 43. Jinavallabhasūri, 44. Jinadattasūri, 45. Jinacandrasūri, 46. Jinapatisūri, 47. Jineśvarasūri, 48. Jinaprabodhasūri, 49. Jinacandrasūri (f. 14v1), 50. Jinakuśalasūri (f. 14v7), 51. Jinapadmasūri, 52. Jinalabdhisūri, 53. Jinacandrasūri, 54. Jinodayasūri, 55. Jinarājasūri, 56. Jinabhadrasūri (f. 16r15), 57. Jinacandra (f. 17r6), 58. Jinasamudrasūri (f. 17r), 59. Jinasiṃhasūri (f. 17v1; called Jinahaṃsasūri in Weber p. 1050, but corresponding texts identical in both manuscripts), 60. Jinamāṇikyasūri, 61. Jinacandrasūri (f. 18r9; Akbar's contemporary) and 62. Jinasiṃhasūri (f. 19v1). The latter had two pupils, Jinarājasūri and Jinasāgarasūri, who separated after a disagreement and each created their own branch (Vinayasagar 2005: 297). Weber's manuscript follows Jinarājasūri's branch up to No. 70 Jinaharṣasūri, whereas the Cambridge manuscript follows Jinasāgarasūri's branch, also up to No. 70: 63. Jinasāgarasūri (f. 19v), 64. Jinadharmasūri (f. 20r12), 65. Jinacandrasūri (f. 20v6), 66. Jinavijaya (f. 20v11), 67. Jinakīrtisūri (f. 21r1), 68. Jinayuktisūri (f. 21r6), 69. Jinacandrasūri (f.21r11) and 70. Jinaudayasūri = Jinodayasūri (f. 21v; Vinayasagar 2005: 300). Thus, each making a different choice, the two manuscripts display this competition. The Kharataragaccha is especially rooted in Rajasthan (Jaisalmer, Bikaner, etc. are often referred to). The last event mentioned in the Cambridge manuscript, the death of pontiff No. 69 Jinacandrasūri, is dated V.S. 1875 (= 1818 CE), which gives a hint about the time when it was written. </p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'More' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about downloading or sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media

You can also embed the viewer into your own website or blog using the code below: