skip to content

Sanskrit Manuscripts : Saptākṣarī Vajrapātādyahārī


Sanskrit Manuscripts

<p style='text-align: justify;'>A polychrome charm (<i>yantra</i>) against lightning made of seven intertwined letters (<i>kūṭākṣara</i>, monogram script): <i>ya</i>, <i>ra</i>, <i>va</i>, <i>la</i>, <i>ma</i>, <i>kṣa</i> and <i>ha</i>. The <a href='' onclick='store.loadPage(2);return false;'>verso</a> bears a four-line stanza in the <i>sragdharā</i> metre (with caesurae marked by a small dot), listing each letter and explaining its symbolism (for the Sanskrit text, see Transcription): "The letter ya is what we call the air, ra is fire, va is water: the circle we call earth is the letter la, on it ma is what is called Mount Meru, above the latter is kṣa, which has the nature of the means to wisdom; from ha, the sky, is the spotless purity that is emptiness. This seven-letter diagram is [such a] group: bow incessantly to this excellent one that wards off the fall of thunderbolt!"</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'View more options' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media

You can also embed the viewer into your own website or blog using the code below: