skip to content

Music : Tudor part book


<p style='text-align: justify;'>A <i>Tudor part book</i>, which contains the music for one voice over a range of pieces, here, the tenor. It was possibly created in East Anglia for the private chapel of Thomas Fiennes, 9th Baron Dacre. It would originally have formed part of a set of five or perhaps six for individual voices. The accompanying bass part is found in Cambridge, St John's College MS 234, but the others are lost.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Both part books comprise, for their respective voices, the music for 10 individual motets by a range of Tudor composers; three by Robert Fayrfax, two by Stephen Prowett and two by John Taverner, and one by each of H. Davy, Lovell, and Hugh Austen or Aston. There is also a Stabat Mater by Richard Davy, and a Magnificat by Fayrfax. Lastly, the book provides five compositions for the musical accompaniment to the mass: two by Fayrfax, and one of each of Austen, William Pasche, and Thomas Ashwell, making 17 individual pieces in all.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>In the heading for Ashwell's mass, a blessing on King Herry, i.e. Henry VIII, is written, on folio <a href='' onclick='store.loadPage(75);return false;'>31r</a>, and one motet preserves the name of his first and longest-lasting wife, Katherine of Aragon. Nevertheless, the presence of Taverner's music implies a date later in their marriage, which was annulled in 1533, so likely the manuscript was written between 1524 and that date.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Arthur Westwell, Queens' College, Cambridge.</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'View more options' menu you can find , any transcription and translation we have of the text and find out about sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media

You can also embed the viewer into your own website or blog using the code below: