skip to content

Western Medieval Manuscripts : Epictetus, Aesop and Ignatios the Deacon

Western Medieval Manuscripts

<p style='text-align: justify;'> This small manuscript is a miscellany, comprising didactic and ethical texts by <i>Epictetus, Aesop and Ignatios the Deacon</i>. After Epictetus' (ca. 55-ca. 135 CE) <i> Encheiridion</i> ("Manual"), a summary of the Stoic philosopher's thought, there are two collections of fables, 149 fables by Aesop (6th c. BCE) and 43 fables in choliambic tetrameters by Ignatios the Deacon (ca. 775-ca. 848), attributed in the manuscript to Babrius. </p><p style='text-align: justify;'> The codex was written in the 17th century, before 1697, since it is mentioned as part of John Moore's library in Bernard's inventory of the libraries of England and Ireland published in that year.</p><p style='text-align: justify;'>Dr Erika Elia</p>

Want to know more?

Under the 'More' menu you can find , and information about sharing this image.

No Contents List Available
No Metadata Available


If you want to share this page with others you can send them a link to this individual page:
Alternatively please share this page on social media

You can also embed the viewer into your own website or blog using the code below: