<p style='text-align: justify;'><p>1825</p><p>Labelled across bottom margin ‘~~Grand entrance to Madingley Court Yard 1825. The gateway was originally the E entrance to the Old Schools, Cambridge, dated 1470. When that building was demolished to allow for rebuilding of the library in 1754 it was taken to Madingley by Sir John Hinde Cotton. His architect, James Essex, set it in the wall of the courtyard 1758 and made it more picturesque with a gable and Gothic pinnacles and an ogee top to the arch. The royal arms of Edward IV and crest and arms of Hinde were added, with the Cotton arms on the internal face. </p><p>Bradley and Pevsner 2014; RCHME 1968</p></p>
The images contained in the pdf download have the following copyright:
This will create a PDF with thumbnail images for all pages, and may take some time for large documents.
The images contained in this document have the following copyright:
This image has the following copyright:
Choose one of the available sizes to download:
This metadata has the following copyright:
Do you want to download metadata for this document?